A Thousand Paper Cranes

I have paper cranes dangling from a string in my bedroom on a backdrop of fairy lights and an alice blue sky. It’s stagnant. The decorum in my place is again consistent with something right out of a novel. In fact, my whole life seems to be set in course that way.

I once read a book that moved me. It was called A Thousand Paper Cranes. I don’t care to read it again or search up the author’s name. It broke me, that’s why. And as I’ve mentioned earlier, I don’t prefer to dwell in the past like that. Anyway, it was about this little girl who had leukaemia and a best friend who prayed for her survival. It went something along the lines of this: the best friend knew about a tactic to cure her. A thousand paper cranes makes a wish. So, with this knowledge he gathered a thousand paper cranes and brought them to her hospital bed.

One wish.

She still died.

It’s an inherent tale about hope, but rather paradoxical in nature as it seemingly takes away all that ‘hope’. Anyway, I told Amelia about this book around the first time we met. She internalized these words in a way I never imagined. Her whole life is set around achieving goals, you see. So naturally, when she would achieve something, she made a paper crane. At one point her whole floor was littered with them and she’d tell me about her scholarly achievements in college and about how she would give one of them to someone she deemed worthy.

Knowing this, I knew I was going to receive one. And I did. In the mail. But I didn’t predict what happened next. We have this book, sort of a scrapbook of our friendship. It’s called The Legendary Book. People aren’t supposed to see it. It’s contents are filled with knowledge beyond our friendship. Thoughts, photos, sketches, journals. Mind you, she lives a country away now so we are forced to send it back and forth via mail, as if we live don’t exist in the digital age at all.

Time came and went. She stopped talking about the cranes. We stopped e-mailing. All means of communication at this point were shut down.

I had a birthday.

Two days after my birthday I received a large package in the mail and ripped it open to find The Legendary Book. I opened it up to find a plethora of paper cranes taped to the pages in varying shapes and sizes.ย Happy birthday, it read, make a wish.

I’m not sure about you, but I quite do believe in fate. I’m a rational person. And by that logic, and because she exists, I believe it to be true. It was fate that I met this wondrous girl and that she was able to understand me like none other. I only hope that the rest of the world find their Amelia, and are able to keep with herย unlike me. Perhaps one day I’ll find a man to match her. I’d marry that man.

What are your thoughts on fate? Friendship across borders? I’d like to hear that I’m not the only one damning society (and the market) for a friend’s move. Comment below.

One thought on “A Thousand Paper Cranes

  1. you’re truly a just right webmaster. The site loading speed is incredible. It kind of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick. In addition, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a magnificent task in this subject! bdcacbfcfdkc

    Like

Leave a Reply

